controls are our passion

Exotronic GmbH

PCB assembly

In principle, there are two different processes – SMD assembly and THT assembly.

SMD assembly (Surface Mounted Device)

When assembling the SMD, components are soldered straight onto a circuit board using solderable terminal surfaces. This may result in very high component density and assembly on both sides, which can have a positive effect on the electrical properties. This means that less assembly space is required, which also means that devices can be made smaller and produced in a more cost-effective way.

We have two assembly lines consisting of three SMD placement machines and one automatic soldering paste printer. The soldering process takes place in our convection reflow soldering machine.

THT assembly (Through Hole Technology)

In contrast to SMD assembly, THT assembly is characterised by the fact that the components have wire connections. During assembly, they are inserted into so-called contact holes through a circuit board and must be soldered afterwards. Although THT assembly has dwindled as part of the miniaturisation of components in recent years, there are components (connectors, contact strips and the like) that are still designed as THT parts.

THT assembly is carried out manually. In addition to conventional manual soldering, we also use wave soldering machines that are more economical for a larger number of solder joints and guarantee consistent quality.


Soldering paste printing

As the first step in the production process, soldering paste is applied to blank circuit boards during soldering paste printing. For this purpose, a product-specific template is clamped into the soldering paste printer, which is recessed in the places where the soldering paste is to be printed on the circuit board. Absolute precision is required for this process. A lack of soldering paste or solder straps are frequently the cause of breakdowns in production and in the field.

Our system carries out checks with a camera after every application process to ensure error-free printing and automatically cleans the template after the process has been carried out a set number of times.

Placement machine

SMD assembly takes place in the second step. An application head with multiple sockets takes in the electronic components to be placed from so-called feeders, then uses a camera to measure the position of the component on the dropper and positions it by monitoring the pressure on the corresponding pad on the circuit board. Our new placement machine from Siplace wins points here thanks to its high levels of precision and performance. Components with a construction form up to 01005 can be processed.

Reflow

Components that are only stuck down with adhesive must be soldered to the circuit board later. For this purpose, the circuit board goes through a reflow oven with different temperature zones. With a brief peak temperature of 260°C, the soldering paste melts and ensures the component has a firm connection to the terminal surface in the subsequent cooling process. The components will then be firmly bonded to the circuit board.

Solder joint inspection

The defined solder joints will then be inspected on a random basis. For this purpose, we use a 3D coordinate measuring system from Keyence. The precise way in which the solder joints must be created is regulated in IPC-A-610E (Acceptability of Electronic Assemblies).

2022 © Exotronic GmbH Data protection Imprint

controls are our passion

Exotronic GmbH

Bauteilbestückung

Grundsätzlich gibt es zwei verschiedene Verfahrendie SMD-Bestückung und THT-Bestückung.

SMD-Bestückung (Surface Mounted Device-oberflächenmontiertes Bauelement)

Bei der SMD-Bestückung werden Bauteile mittels lotfähiger Anschlussflächen direkt auf eine Leiterplatte gelötet. Dadurch kann eine sehr hohe Bauteildichte und eine beidseitige Bestückung realisiert werden, was sich positiv auf die elektrischen Eigenschaften auswirken kann. Auf diese Weise werden geringe Bauräume benötigt, infolgedessen Geräte kleiner und kostengünstiger hergestellt werden können.

Für die Bestückung haben wir zwei Linien, bestehend aus drei SMD-Bestückungsautomaten und einen automatischen Lotpastendrucker. Der Lötprozess findet in unserer Konvektions-Reflow-Lötanlage statt.

THT-Bestückung (Througth Hole Technology-Durchsteckmontage)

Im Gegensatz zur Oberflächenmontage ist die THT-Bestückung dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass die Bauteile Drahtanschlüsse besitzen. Diese werden bei der Bestückung in sogenannte Kontaktlöcher durch eine Leiterplatte gesteckt und müssen anschließend verlötet werden. Auch wenn im Zuge der Miniaturisierung von Bauteilen in den letzten Jahren die THT-Bestückung abnimmt, gibt es eine Reihe von Bauelementen (Steckverbinder, Kontaktleisten oder ähnliches), die nach wie vor als Durchsteckteile konzipiert sind.

Die THT-Bestückung erfolgt von Hand. Neben dem konventionellen Handlöten verwenden wir Wellenlötanlagen, die bei einer größeren Anzahl von Lötstellen wirtschaftlicher sind und eine gleichbleibende Qualität garantieren.


Lotpastendruck

Als erster Schritt im Produktionsprozess werden die leeren Leiterplatten beim Lotpastendruck mit Lotpaste gerakelt. Dazu wird im Lotpastendrucker eine produktspezifische Schablone eingespannt, die an den Stellen ausgespart ist, an denen Lotpaste auf die Leiterplatte gedruckt werden soll. Bei diesem Vorgang ist absolute Präzision gefragt. Fehlende Lotpaste oder Lötbrücken sind häufig die Ursache für Ausfälle in der Produktion und auch im Feld.

Unsere Anlage kontrolliert kamerabasiert nach jedem Rakelvorgang den fehlerfreien Druck und reinigt nach einer definierten Anzahl an Vorgängen automatisch die Schablone.

Bestückungsautomat

Im zweiten Schritt erfolgt die SMD-Bestückung. Ein Bestückungskopf mit mehreren Aufnahmen nimmt die zu bestückenden elektronischen Bauteile von sogenannten Feedern auf, vermisst anschließend kamerabasiert die Lage des Bauteils an der Pipette und positioniert es drucküberwacht auf das entsprechende Pad auf der Leiterplatte. Unser neuer Bestückungsautomat von Siplace punktet hierbei mit höchster Präzision und Performance. Bauteile mit Bauform bis 01005 können dabei verarbeitet werden.

Reflow

Die rein durch Adhäsion haftenden Bauteile müssen im Weiteren mit der Leiterplatte verlötet werden. Dazu durchläuft die bestückte Leiterplatte einen Reflowofen mit verschiedenen Temperaturzonen. Bei einer Spitzentemperatur von kurzzeitig 260 °C schmilzt die Lotpaste auf und sorgt im darauffolgenden Abkühlvorgang für eine stoffschlüssige Verbindung zur Anschlussfläche des Bauteils. Anschließend sind die Bauteile fest mit der Leiterplatte verbunden.

Lötstelleninspektion

Stichprobenartig werden abschließend die definierten Lötstellen inspiziert. Dazu verwenden wir ein 3D-Koordinaten-Messsystem der Firma Keyence. Wie genau die Lötstellen beschaffen sein müssen, ist in der IPC-A-610E (Abnahmekriterien für elektronische Baugruppen) geregelt.

2022 © Exotronic GmbH Datenschutz Impressum