controls are our passion

Exotronic GmbH

Design

Many manufacturers of electronic components rely on universal standard casing. We think that the functionality, ease of use, value and aesthetics are significantly influenced by the casing and that they should be given a great deal of attention. This is why we design individual casing for each of our products. The first question is what material it should be made from. Depending on the quantity, we offer injection-moulded parts made from plastic or milled parts made from plastic or aluminium.

By using a CAD system, we are able to create photo-realistic images before prototyping, which look very similar to the later original and allow for an early assessment of the design.


Range of services

Product design

Designing picture masks

CAD visualisation of draft designs

Creating photo-realistic illustrations (rendering)

Providing advice on production processes and material selection

Commissioning prototypes in rapid prototyping

Guidance through to serial production possible

Control panel for price critical markets

For markets in which price is critically, we have developed a concept for an air conditioning control unit that drastically reduces costs. The aesthetic and haptic effect should not suffer as a result. A high-quality surface is achieve by predominantly real glass, which fits perfectly into the current "Black Panel" design language.

Study: central control panel for air conditioning functions and more

Operating most of the functions with one central control panel was the starting point of this study. A rotary knob with just 4 other buttons within reach of the driver is our solution. The user will be assisted by additional displays, cost-effectively solved through backlit symbols that provide information about the menu currently active.

An appealing night design with an elaborately illuminated ring on the rotary knob, along with high-quality matt aluminium surface applications, complete this control panel.

Driver Unit II roof hatch control panel

Our Driver Unit (roof hatch control panel) has been on the market for 1.5 decades and is due for a redesign. Higher visual quality while maintaining an attractive parts price - just one premise of the study.

Black, glass-like surfaces are the current trend in cars and, increasingly, in buses too. Taking this as a starting point, we designed a control panel with a rotary knob via which the roof hatch selection can be made and the roof hatch position can be selected. The current positions of all hatches are displayed with LEDs. And all this in a classy, glass-like black surface.

Roof hatch control panel with integrated control system

A button for a roof hatch, which also has the control system for the motors integratedour approach for markets in which price is critically important with just 1...2 roof hatches per bus.

The button can be pressed sequentially in order to select the 4 different roof hatch positions. The selected roof hatch position will be displayed on the button itself. The colour of the backlighting can be selected so that the button blends seamlessly into the cockpit.

The prototype is chosen using the dimensions so that it will fit into the recess of a standard switch.

Design study: air conditioning control panel

How can an air conditioning control panel be designed if cost considerations are disregarded? We asked ourselves this question and designed an HMI that primarily consists of a huge touchscreen and also has two control knobs, which are equipped with integrated colour displays in turn.

The possibilities are completely new. A scale for the control knob that changes depending on the function. Intuitive, aesthetic and ergonomic.

Air conditioning control panel design for bus manufacturer

In 2017, we came up with various designs for an air conditioning control panel (HVAC HMI) for a potential development order for a bus manufacturer. In the design shown here, the monochrome display is arranged within the rotary knob.

Air conditioning control panel design for bus manufacturer

In 2017, we came up with various designs for an air conditioning control panel (HVAC HMI) for a potential development order for a bus manufacturer.

Waterproof USB interface for Eloma combi steamer JOKER

We had to design a waterproof USB interface for the new glass panel of the combi steamer JOKER. We worked on various designs and manufactured the favoured components to be production-ready. Prototype production was also in our hands.

Designing the Eloma Multimax control panel

We were responsible for designing the control panel for the “Multimax” combi steamer from Eloma. The aim of the project was to develop a high-quality human/machine interface whose central control instrument is a control dial/control button. Other important design requirements were that it is easy to clean and grip. We created 27 designs for the control dial alone; Eloma selected its favourite from them. In addition to the control dial, we also developed the front cover and a new interface list.

2022 © Exotronic GmbH Data protection Imprint

controls are our passion

Exotronic GmbH

Design

Viele Hersteller elektronischer Baugruppen greifen auf universelle Standardgehäuse zurück. Wir sind der Meinung, dass sowohl die Funktionalität, Bedienerfreundlichkeit, Wertigkeit wie auch die Ästhetik maßgeblich vom Gehäuse beeinflusst werden und dass ihm somit eine große Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet werden sollte. Aus diesem Grund gestalten wir für jedes unserer Produkte ein individuelles Gehäuse. Dabei steht zu Beginn die Frage, aus welchem Material es gefertigt werden soll. In Abhängigkeit von der Stückzahl bieten wir Spritzgussformteile aus Kunststoff oder Frästeile aus Kunststoff oder Aluminium an.

Durch den Einsatz eines CAD-Systems sind wir in der Lage, noch vor dem Auslösen von Prototypen fotorealistische Bilder zu erzeugen, die dem späteren Original sehr nahe kommen und eine frühzeitige Bewertung des Designs zulassen.


Leistungsspektrum

Produktdesign

Gestaltung von Bildmasken

CAD-Visualisierung der Designentwürfe

Erstellung fotorealistischer Darstellungen (Rendern)

Beratung bei Fertigungsverfahren und Materialauswahl

Beauftragung von Prototypen im Rapid-Prototyping

Begleitung bis in die Serienproduktion möglich

Klimabedienteil für preiskritische Märkte

Für preiskritische Märkte haben wir ein Konzept eines Klimabedienteils entwickelt, welches die Kosten drastisch reduziert. Dabei soll die ästhetische und haptische Wirkung keinesfalls darunter leiden. Durch überwiegend Echtglas wird eine wertige Oberfläche erzielt, die sich optimal in die aktuelle „Black Panel“ Designsprache einfügt.

Studie zentrale Bedieneinheit für Klimafunktionen und mehr

Mit einem zentralen Bedienteil die meisten Funktionen zu bedienen war der Ausgangspunkt dieser Studie. Ein Drehknopf mit nur 4 weiteren Tasten in optimaler Reichweite vom Fahrer ist unser Lösungsansatz. Unterstützt wird der Bediener durch eine zusätzliche Anzeige, kostengünstig gelöst durch hinterleuchtete Symbole, die Auskunft über das aktuell eingestellte Menü geben.

Ein ansprechendes Nachtdesign mit aufwendig leuchtendem Ring am Drehknopf, gepaart mit wertigen matten Aluminium-Oberflächenapplikationen komplettieren dieses stimmige Bedienteil.

Dachlukenbedienteil Driver Unit II

Unsere Driver Unit (Dachlukenbedienteil) ist knapp seit 1,5 Jahrzehnten auf dem Markt und ein Redesign steht an. Optisch hochwertiger bei gleichzeitig weiterhin attraktivem Teilepreis-nur eine Premisse bei der Studie.

Der aktuelle Trend sind schwarze glasähnliche Oberflächen im Automobil und zunehmend auch im Bus. Dies als Ausgangspunkt genommen, haben wir ein Bedienteil mit nur einem Drehknopf konzipiert, über welches die Dachlukenselektion und auch Dachlukenstellung gewählt werden können. Dabei werden mit LEDs die aktuellen Stellungen aller Luken übersichtlich dargestellt. Und das alles in einer edel anmutenden, glasähnlichen schwarzen Oberfläche.

Dachlukenbedienteil mit integrierter Steuerung

Ein Taster für eine Dachluke, welche gleichzeitig die Steuerung der Motoren integriert hat-unser Ansatz für preiskritische Märkte mit nur 1...2 Dachluken pro Bus.

Um die 4 verschiedenen Dachlukenpositionen wählen zu können, kann der Taster sequentiell gedrückt werden. Auf dem Taster selbst wird die gewählte Dachlukenposition dargestellt. Dabei ist die Farbe der Hinterleuchtung wählbar, sodass sich der Taster nahtlos in das Cockpit einfügt.

Von den Abmessungen ist der Prototyp derart gewählt, dass er in die Aussparung eines Standard-Schalters passt.

Designstudie Klimabedienteil

Wie kann ein Klimabedienteil gestaltet werden, wenn der Kostenaspekt außer Acht gelassen wird? Diese Frage haben wir uns gestellt und ein HMI konzipiert, welches hauptsächlich aus einem riesigen Touch Screen besteht und zusätzlich zwei Drehknöpfe aufweist, die wiederum mit integrierten Farbdisplays ausgestattet sind.

Die Möglichkeiten sind völlig neu. Eine in Abhängigkeit der Funktion wechselnde Skala für den Drehknopf. Intuitiv, ästhetisch und ergonomisch.

Entwurf Klimabedienteil für Bushersteller

Für einen potenziellen Entwicklungsauftrag haben wir im Jahr 2017 für einen Bushersteller unterschiedliche Designentwürfe für ein Klimabedienteil (HVAC HMI) entworfen. Bei dem hier dargestellten Konzept ist das monochrome Display innerhalb des Drehknopfes angeordnet.

Entwurf Klimabedienteil für Bushersteller

Für einen potenziellen Entwicklungsauftrag haben wir im Jahr 2017 für einen Bushersteller unterschiedliche Designentwürfe für ein Klimabedienteil (HVAC HMI) entworfen.

Wasserdichte USB-Schnittstelle für Eloma Kombidämpfer JOKER

Für das neue Glaspanel des Kombidämpfers JOKER durften wir eine wasserdichte USB-Schnittstelle entwerfen. Wir haben unterschiedliche Ausführungen erarbeitet und die favorisierte Baugruppe fertigungsgerecht konstruiert. Zudem lag die Prototypenherstellung in unserer Hand.

Gestaltung Bedienteil Eloma Multimax

Für den Kombidämpfer "Multimax" der Firma Eloma waren wir für die Gestaltung des Bedienteils verantwortlich. Ziel des Projektes war die Entwicklung einer hochwertig anmutenden Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle, dessen zentrales Bedieninstrument ein Dreh-/Drücksteller ist. Leichte Reinigbarkeit und eine gute Griffigkeit waren ebenso wichtige Anforderungen an das Design. Allein für das Drehrad wurden 27 verschiende Entwürfe erstellt, aus denen Eloma Ihren Favoriten wählte. Neben dem Drehrad wurde die Frontfolie sowie eine neuartige Schnittstellenleiste entwickelt.

2022 © Exotronic GmbH Datenschutz Impressum